Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

What Register do Operatic Singers like Pavarotti Use

I've watched Pavarotti teaching lesson on youtube and he talks about covering the sound .. Is it the same thing as the belting register or call register? .. When Pavarotti and other Operatic Tenors hit those High C's are they using a belt register? Mixed Voice? Chesty Mixed? Heady Mixed? .. Please Answer Thank You

Answers

• IraRIraR Member, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 54
    I'm no expert, but I think Ken answered this question in his recent Oct. 27, 2018 Mix Voice LiveStream recently, and he said that the opera tenors are using what he calls a "chest voice;" they have stretched (or perhaps it comes naturally) their chest-voice to those High C's, and Ken claimed that that "chest" voice is used basically without exception. But then after watching the whole video, I myself wrote a comment/question (in the comment/questions listed below the YouTube video, and Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy wrote back a reply:

My (I'm listed as Ira Rohde) question: Don't you think that even the "dramatic" opera tenors use some mixed voice when they get much softer and occasionally need to get a little "lyrical," like when they are doing their famous "messa di voce"? Isn't seamless mixing of the voice part of their skills, too? I mean, obviously, their "pianissimo" is actually loud enough to reverberate around an opera hall unamplified (as is the pianissimo of many Broadway belters)! And I'd agree, you can get soft to some extent in a chest-voice. But wouldn't you call many changes in timbre/volume a kind of "mixing" the voice? Maybe you should cover "volume" as a topic, and how it relates to our practice and "chest-voice," "head-voice," "mixed-voice," and "ping-resonance.

Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy's reply (I assume it came from Ken himself):