Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Why do I feel like I'm going to pass out everytime I breathe from my diaphragm?

I want to start learning how to sing, so I asked my friends who can sing for some tips. They said I should start out by breathing from my diaphragm. So I started practicing that. However, everytime I do I get lightheaded and feel like I'm going to pass out.

Is this normal? Will it go away with more practice or am I doing something wrong?

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    edited August 2019
    after how long do you get lightheaded? is this during singing? you will build stamina, so it will most likely get better.

mastering the breathing is a lot of work (i don't even think it ever stops, really), so most likely, you are "doing it wrong" right now. but that doesn't matter, as long as you work on it, you will improve.
  • RiannaRianna Member Posts: 6
    @Klaus_T it happens after about a minute when I'm doing breathing excercises. It feels like I'm not filling my lungs entirely and I'm not getting enough air. Hopefully it will get better. Thank you for your answer.

• xiedofuxiedofu 2.0 PRO Posts: 13
    Does the concept make sense to you?