Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Options

Hello From L.A. -- Lower Alabama!

I'm a 47 year old Physical Therapist from Alabama. I'm a drummer, in and out of bands most of my life and accustomed to performing live. I've always had a passion for singing but have always held the belief that great singers were simply gifted, IOW I've never considered myself as one of the "gifted" ones. I love most genres of music, however classic rock from the 70s and 80s is my preference... Steve Perry, Aerosmith, Eagles, etc...

As I'm going through Volume 1, my beliefs are beginning to change. Many of the concepts are beginning to click as I go through the scales daily. Most recently the concept of support and diaphragmatic breathing in reaching the higher chest notes is becoming more and more clear! I now realize that my feeling of using the diaphragm was all wrong. What's even more interesting is that I teach diaphragmatic breathing to many of my  patients!!

Ken's concept of the voice as a "leg" (thigh/chest, calf/head voice, and knee/passaggio) particularly hit home with me. I often teach my patients who have barriers to a normal gait/walk the concept of neuromuscular control, timing, etc... in order to achieve a more normal walk, i.e. just because they are walking doesn't mean it's correct/normal or healthy.

I would love to achieve a voice strong enough one day to sing something like "Don't Stop Believing", although I know I am quite a ways away from that goal. Also I have two teenage girls whom I have told that I will sing Bob Carlisle's "Butterfly Kisses" at their wedding one day. This may be part of the deeper reason I am looking to improve my voice because I would hate to disappoint them with a crackly, strained voice during such a meaningful moment!

I firmly believe that I have been led to Ken's course for a reason...

Comments

• Options
    highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,357

Welcome, @usapt!