Home VOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS for the Bold!

Depeche Mode Stripped

bnosambnosam Member Posts: 8
This is my first time posting a recording on here.  I've been practising singing for about 2-3 months on and off now.

I'm a newbie, but I can take criticism, so let me have it! Just as long as you tell me how to improve, any comments are welcome!

Little feedback here and there in the mic but it's not bad, I'll avoid it next recording.

Comments

• bnosambnosam Member Posts: 8
    edited June 2014
    I just saw your post and I do agree  there were a lot of effects (I originally recorded it to see if I could get vocal effects close to the original song, posting it here was an after thought since I've never posted anything on here before).

It feels weird to be a novice again at something musicial since I've played guitar for 8 years and I'm not used to being a beginner!

I find it hard to get more support than I already have, I have my lungs 3/4 full of air, breathing from the diaphragm, back also straight.
    But I guess support gets built the more often you work those muscles, they get stronger, correct?

You could probably help me better when you hear this clip without effects:

Thank you for your comment! 
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited June 2014

@bnosam.

This is a better recording with the effects "Stripped"... ; ^ )

We can hear what you're doing on this one.

Perhaps you are doing it intentionally, but the vocal is a bit dark and covered-sounding.

If you will brighten up the sound, it will help you to zero in more precisely with your pitch.

As Cinema pointed out, you could use a bit more support as well.

Bob

Yeah, I do notice I try to sing it darker along with the original song's style.

So I should try it brighter first then slowly try to make it a bit darker when I get my pitch on key?

Another question: