Home Welcome

Hi from a life long dreamer

sam.ksam.k Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 41
edited September 2014 in Welcome
Hi All,

I've wanted to sing like a rock star since I was a teenager (twenty years ago now) but back then I didn't have the right teachers or mentors and had no idea how to find the right ones. I was also generally full of crap and didn't have a clue how to be successful at anything. I sang in choirs, had vocal lessons with classical trainers who didn't like rock, and was also in multiple garage bands, but I always sucked and nothing ever came of it. After trying to forget it for more than a decade the dream just won't go away.

Now I am in a very different place in my life where I finally have the self discipline, motivation, personal space, and the right attitude to succeed. I have been learning from free Internet resources for a few months and have improved a little, but I still felt I was lacking good teaching and mentoring. I hope I am not speaking to soon when I say I think I have finally found it here at KTVA. I just bought the "complete bundle" a few days ago and I am really excited to finally have the right resources to achieve my dream.

My own assessment of my voice so far is:
  • I think I have a good range, not sure on octave numbers but between my MIDI keyboard and Ableton live seem to think it is D1 to D4 (I think that translates to D2 to D5 in the language most people use? *shrug*)
  • My pitch is not bad
  • I have terrible tone and sound wobbly and strained, in particular sustaining long a notes sounds particularly bad
  • I have no control of my vibrato at all
From these things and what I have learned elsewhere I think I need to work most on my breath support and opening my throat.