Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Pinoy from Dubai

I am 49 years of age and working here in Dubai as a Mechanical Engineer by profession. I was once dreamed of to be a professional singer but wasn't given the chance to developed my voice due to circumstances. At my age now, that dream is no longer there though the desire to sing beautifully never fades and I just want to sing to my wife and children and be an inspiration. Hopefully, time will come that my kids live that dream for me.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    Hello, Pinoy!

Your dream could still come true for you in some form, if you know some musician friends close to your age, or that aren't prejudiced about age. I wanted to be a full time musician for my entire life, but my circumstances also caused me to have to work full time. Throughout my working life, I also played in bands that got paid to play. I still play in bands, and still get paid to play, and I'm older than you.

Your dream now may be to sing for your family only, or it may expand to sing and play with some musical friends. Music for enjoyment can take many forms, for free or for pay, and for work or for pure play. I am a drummer, and have always enjoyed playing drums, but I have to admit that learning to sing well later in life has caused me to really enjoy singing, and if I'm not singing when I play drums now, something big is missing.

I know many families that have musician or singer grandparents, parents, and kids. Their get-togethers are great times, and music can be a big part of what makes those gatherings special.