Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Hello everyone! My name is Altamese Akiva-BenAvram

NikkiaNikkia Pro Posts: 2
edited September 2015 in INTRODUCE YOURSELF
I am a new KTVA student and I am 62-years-old! I am excited to be here. I have always loved to sing and am pretty good at it, I'm told, but I've never really done much, until recently, to develop my natural talent. For the past year or so, I've tried a couple of local "Vocal Coaches" and was very disappointed in their approach. Thank God for the internet! There's no excuse not to educate yourself as to what a vocal coach should be teaching you. One of my teachers was an excellent pianist who'd actually won 1 Grammy for an original score and been nominated for another; however, he knew nothing about the voice, though he was billing himself as a vocal coach. The other one was use to training children and had me doing exercises like "My Mommy Made Me Mash My M&Ms," which made me feel childish and foolish. Once I did my research, I realized that I was wasting money, time, and spinning my wheels, in fact, getting no where. I was totally frustrated, realizing at 62 because I had not used my singing talent much and because of aging vocal cords, I was losing my gift. I became very discouraged and a little frightened. I've spent money on Speech Level Training, which did little good. I've spent money, quite a bit, on several of the most popular online training programs, including Brett Manning and the TVS program. There are others, too, which I'm sure you'd recognize that I purchased and I saw very little improvement in my voice. One day I was looking at Youtube, praying for help. I knew there had to be someone that could help me and I saw a video of this man, Steve Kaplan, telling me what I'd already discovered: that most of the programs I'd tried would not give me what I needed to develop my voice and that I should give his program a try. So I took another leap of faith and purchased the KTVA program. I've been using it for almos