Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

BASS, BARITONE OR TENOR?

Hello everybody! So I've been singing for about two years now. I've always loved singing, was just afraid of doing it in public. But I practiced, and it turns out I have one hell of a voice! Literally. I'm confused and it's making my life miserable! I've always had a low talking voice, up until this year where I started music lessons. My range extended, and it affected my talking voice. I now sound higher. At the beginning of last school semester, I took choir classes. When the teacher took our range, I was put in the bass section. And I sung there comfortably for the remainder of the semester. However, when I started taking private lessons with the same teacher, she got me baritone sheet music and we practiced on that, and I had no trouble hitting the highest notes of the range. Now, my favorite singer is Beyoncé. I always listen and sing to her songs. She also helped me develop my breath because she sings like a goddess while running and jumping and dancing on the stage like a deflating balloon. Because I always practice to her videos, I managed to develop my lungs and I have a lot of breath, and my singing technique improved. Keep in mind I've been doing this since 10th grade; and I'm a college freshman now. Today, I was singing, still going on thinking that I'm a bass-baritone. Because I was bored, I started singing more Beyoncé songs. For some reason, I chose to sing Listen. The highest note in Listen is a F#5. The note comes in towards the end when she belts out "complete". I belted out the note, but it turned out flat and I instead hit a F5 (La4). The reason I know this? I was recording myself and the machine has a vocal scale in which it records the frequencies of the input (my voice in this case), and it corresponded to a La4; which is an F5. Isn't that supposed to be waaaaay out of my range? At the beginning of the semester last year, I couldn't even hit a middle C (C4), beca