Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Drum leveling help

Hey guys! Looking at you audio experts! I need help. I am new to recording and I need to know what you think of these levels I have set on my drums. There is one snare, one kick, one small tom, and one floor tom. Thanks. Im aiming for the best sound possible. I know my drum heads are old so dont mention anything about that. This is simply just a leveling I need help with.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    The toms sound pretty good, but I would bring up the floor tom relative to the rack tom. The cymbals are at a good level for the toms. The snare is at a good level, but I would try to get it a little more crisp on the high end, more snare snap, maybe a little less ringing. The kick needs the most work, and should be the most dominant in the mix. The kick sounds distant, but needs to be in your face. You may want to dampen it with a pillow or a blanket, but it really needs to be dominant and capable of being heard through a mix of other instruments, besides the other drums.

So I would say get the kick sounding beefy and giant, and then bring in the other drums that are presently overpowering it. Kick and Snare need to be huge. Then if you can bring in giant toms that don't bury the kick, you'll be in good shape.

Bob
  • JoshBJoshB Pro Posts: 100
    Thanks Bob for the help. :)
    I know I was a little frustrated after a long day from meeting up with a guy on Kijiji for mics and then tuning drums and doing levels and scrambling for every last xlr I could find so I didnt want to talk about tuning. What can I do to make my drums sound better for the tuning of them? I know new skins would help hahaha
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354