Home SHOW TIME - Band Rehearsals and Performance Day!!!

What to do with my hands?

Hi guys,

I've been playing/singing in bands off and on for decades, but always from behind a guitar. The latest band I'm in don't need another guitarist, so I'm strictly a front man, which I've never done before. We've only had a couple of practises so are a long way from gigging yet, but I just don't know what to do with my hands. I really enjoy the change in being able to just concentrate on the vocals and not have to worry about the guitar, but I feel a little lost at the same time.

Any suggestions? I've been watching videos of other singers that I like to try to see what they do, but I just don't feel comfortable flaying my arms around. Will it just come naturally with practise, or do I actually need to force myself to do it until I get used to it?

The type of music I'm singing ranges from quite mellow Eagles type stuff right up to AC/DC full on rock. It's a covers band.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    That's a good one. I get to hide behind a drum set, so I'm not much help...

You could bang on an acoustic guitar, not plugged in, or work the mic stand like Mick Jagger or Freddie Mercury.

Bob
  • WaynebWayneb Member Posts: 11
    Haha I'd love to work the mic like them but I feel like a tosser when I try. Perhaps it's something that will just come with time.
  • TobyasTobyas Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 9
    Be confident and believe in yourself! I find that when you're completely in the zone your body will express itself naturally and you don't even have to think about it!

But I know what you mean. In rehearsals or the first few songs of a show you don't always feel "warmed up" and moves feel awkward and forced. I've got a few tips for countering this;

1. Hold the mic in you hand. That'll leave you with only having to engage one hand!