Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Beginning Head Voice training and alternating chest every other day- but lost chest voice power 1st

BobbyDee77BobbyDee77 Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 47
I am just beginning Head Voice after 6 weeks of Volume 3 trainin. I know I will alternate chest voice and head voice training every other day. I have an issue after my 1st head voice session.

After the 1st head voice session, I lost all the power I had in my chest voice for 4 days. I think I have it back, thank God, so it doesn't look like it's a long term set back. I was amazed at what happened- nothing hurt at all, but it felt like my adams apple was "higher" and stayed that way a few days- even my speaking voice was higher- like i sucked on mild helium or something, lol. To be honest- if head voice messes up my chest voice/power- I would rather not bother with it at all. However- I believe that is still a big part of the entire program- so I have to do it, but now I am REALLY leery of it. So let's see where I went wrong.

I did the head voice along with Ken's examples. I did exactly the way he does it, and maybe that's my problem. I did it in the fullness and volume he does it, and not light at all- what Ken was doing, I was doing. My throat didn't hurt at all, but my adams apple really felt "higher" when I was done and felt like IT gota real worout. Again- no pain at all- but goodbye chest voice for 4 days, and I really got worried. So- since I am brand new moving into the head voice training, how should I proceed?

I know to to use my support and hold back the air- no techniques change...so should I not do what Ken is doing and go very light- almost falsetto? I am serious- I am afraid to even try head voice again- I like where I was getting without it. I don't want a long set back. Was trying it at Kens volume and intensity where I went wrong- too early for that? If I go light, will my chest voice be ok as I alternate days between chest and head training?