Singing Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy
Hey Dudes and Divas!

Welcome to Singer Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy. Enrolled KTVA vocalists have access to the full singer forums, self-registered members have access to limited areas of the KTVA singing forum. Register to learn more.

To enroll in Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Singing Lessons click here.

So, I tell my patients that there ARE no stupid questions…

So, I'm a 54-year-old male psychiatrist, And,Besides knowing the words to like half of the songs ever recorded by Led Zeppelin,I have no musical background whatsoever.I decided to take on a new challenge, so… Here I am. I took on the challenge Of learning a new martial art (Krav Maga) shortly after 9/11,So I have a little bit of experience in trying to learn something from the novice level in middle age.

It really doesn't sound like the"newbies"Are really new to singing.Many of them seem to have
Had some sort of training, imho. I went ahead and bought the"weekend warrior" course,But it seems likeThe lessons are simply briefer versions of What I am Studying in volume one...For the past month, I have been practicing for approximately 4 hours a week. I am patient. My goal is to be able to sing one song in a non-cringeworthy fashionBy Valentine's Day 2018.

Okay – so here I ask some questions. They will clearly reveal my ignorance, but,I paid for the course, so what the hell:-)

1-How do I find out If I am a tenor, Or bass, or whatever?

2–What resources Do you recommend That may teach some of the very basic basics,Such as a discussion on Octaves, notes,Tonality, etc.? My formal musical training ended after I saw Mary Poppins in 1971.

3-How do I tell What musical note is being sung or played? Ken will say something like "This song goes up to a B sharp."

4- What are the best Videos on the singers forum That may help me out?