Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

An Australian Noob

MatsyMatsy Pro Posts: 168
Hi everyone!

Dude noob from Australia. I came across the course via youtube as I was practicing singing some Japanese songs.

I have had the course now for 5 days. I watched some of the youtube videos and was really impressed with the singing, the skill displayed and the obvious knowledge! All I could think as I watched was, wow, I want to sing like THAT.

Today I didn't do the vocal warm up scales, but went through the video lessons again practicing things like pitch and vowel modifications. I can already notice some differences in how I sound and what I can achieve. I have so many bad habits that I need to work on. That is why I purchased the course though, to get to work on not just being able to sing, but being able to sing well.

In a sense I am a complete beginner as I have never had a voice lesson in my life until I purchased the course, although I have always sung. I have been involved in a few amateur musicals though like, Grease, West Side Story, A Chorus Line etc. So I guess I can carry a tune... but I don't want to just carry a tune, I want people to be amazed when they hear me sing. Haha. :blush:

I have no idea what range my voice is (I don't even know if that is the right term), I am guessing it must be tenor though. Even though I have been in musicals no-one has ever said to me "this is your voice range." I just sang what they told me to, the best I could. I don't have a very deep speaking voice and in the vocal scales I don't tend have too much trouble with the higher notes, going by where Ken says tenors begin to feel the "strain" it all points to me being a tenor.

I can't read music... again, I just sing. So when Ken is saying things like double b... I have no idea what that means haha. I couldn't tell you which note I am looking at or singing...