Singing Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy
Hey Dudes and Divas!

Welcome to Singer Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy. Enrolled KTVA vocalists have access to the full singer forums, self-registered members have access to limited areas of the KTVA singing forum. Register to learn more.

To enroll in Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Singing Lessons click here.

Journey open arms

Very hard song to sing. I am planning to sing this to an audience or a beautiful girl this summer. But it is a fun song to practice to. I am still learning it but i recorded it today. Any thoughts?

http://vocaroo.com/i/s0uriwGRpxUF

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • highmtnhighmtn Posts: 10,424Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro
    This is a very hard song to sing. Your voice is buried so deep in the mix that it can't be heard much at all. I hear you straining for some of the notes, but it's so far beneath the instruments that that is about all I can make out.
  • I tried to record it today and raising the volume http://vocaroo.com/i/s0h7TwVBjAai
  • highmtnhighmtn Posts: 10,424Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro
    Hi, @Swedishguy26 !

Your voice is still buried too deeply in the mix. Thanks for trying to bring the voice up, but when the instruments come in, you're almost inaudible. I can barely hear your voice, and I have very acute hearing.

One bit of advice I would like to give you is to reduce the consonants and sustain your vowels longer.

You kind of shout out notes that would be better if you would sing them on sustained vowels. An example of this would be, going into the chorus, you kind of shout each word: SO! NOW! I! COME! TO! YOU! WITH! O! PEN! ARMS!

They're very abrupt notes the way you're approaching it. If you want to sing it more like Steve Perry, you'll barely use any consonants, and you'll sing the vowels more contiguously, like
    sO-nowAh-ee C-ahm t-ahyahooooo- weth-Oh-peh-nahms...