Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Do I ever have a prayer of singing decently?

Hi all... I'm a semi-professional musician, have a degree in Music Ed and have played guitar, bass and trumpet pretty much forever. I'd like to think my ears are pretty good (though I kind of suck at remembering music lines... or dance steps... even in the short term). But I read music very well which helps in that regard.

Fact: I got no pipes. When I sing, if I can hear myself, I can force notes into pitch, but they have no resonance or tone that anyone else wants to listen to. I have sinus blockage so I get little resonance in my head and have difficulty hearing myself singing if there are any moderately loud sounds around. I have a similar issue playing trumpet, but to lesser degree because it's louder and a lot of the sound bounces off the music stand.

Is there any hope at all with someone like me who would love to sing in public but has no natural gifts and struggles just to stay in tune (even though I can hear pitch down to one or two cents)? If so, where do I begin? TIA

Comments

• bentkbentk Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,650
    Hi @vindibona1

There is hope for everybody to sing. KTVA really builds your voice and forces correct muscle memory. However, it all comes down to how you use the program. If you do the exercises wrong, then you won't get the results you want. If you do them right, or slowly start doing them better until the technique is alright (it took a while in my case), then you will get there. It's absolutely stunning what this program can do for your voice, and even increase your range, resonance etc.

So yeah, KTVA is great. With that out of the way, i don't know how much your sinus blockage will do to your singing. Some resonance is wanted in the area of course, but a sound that is dominantly nasal is not what KTVA teaches. Is there anything you can do against your sinus blockage? Or is it a permanent problem?