Singing Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy
Hey Dudes and Divas!

Welcome to Singer Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy. Enrolled KTVA vocalists have access to the full singer forums, self-registered members have access to limited areas of the KTVA singing forum. Register to learn more.

To enroll in Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Singing Lessons click here.

My attempt at a High C

Hello

This is my first attempt at hitting this hard note. Since i am a baritone it is even harder. How does it sound like?

https://vocaroo.com/i/s0qgDW4g8IEj

Comments

• DiegoDiego Posts: 383Member
    edited April 26
    Notice how you start ''Ahhhhhhhh" and all of a sudden when you hit the high C your voice doesn't sound open, and is kind of strainy, like it's coming out of your throat, kind of froggy. (I could be wrong, but it's what I hear).
    I recommend you keep working on the support, and really form an open, clean, powerful note without going too
    harsh.

All the best,

-Diego
  • Simpan27Simpan27 Posts: 184Member
    I tried to get a kinda opera sound
  • blondiewalesblondiewales Posts: 224Pro
    edited May 4
    Cool note dude. A good C5 can be pretty hard. What I'll say is that while your note could work in a rock context, it is not sung "correctly" in an operatic sense, in my opinion.

I'll add that it doesn't necessarily mean it's bad. It's just not what I know as operatic.
  • DiegoDiego Posts: 383Member
    Exactly, the if you look for the operatic sound, try to more open as well. Try to work on developing good support on the lower notes, then you can work on the C5.

All the best,

-Diego
  • Simpan27Simpan27 Posts: 184Member
    In choir when i was young they told me i was a baritone but i dont know. Did the C5 sound bad?
  • bentkbentk Posts: 962Pro, 2.0 PRO
    edited May 7