Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Ohai! Im totally knew!

gabhernandezgabhernandez Enrolled Posts: 0
edited October 2012 in INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Hello!

My name is Gabriel! Im from California and I've just purchased KTVA VOL 1. Im really excited because I've always loved to sing and I've always wished i could sing good but never had the guts to really do anything about it until now. I guess you can say I'm what Ken would call a 'shower screamer.' I am totally new and I've never had any voice lessons so it shall be an interesting journey.

I am currently a sophomore in college studying for my major in Computer Engineering but I am really considering changing it to music. I am not enjoying my major like I thought I would be so I've been thinking its time for a change. Music has always interested me and i listen to just about everything. I dont think there is a day where i dont listen to music, its a great form of expression for me and is something I am interested in exploring.

My ultimate hope is to major in Voice somewhere but at this point it is very far fetched aha. So since I still have about four months until my next semester i thought id see how far KTVA can take me and asses my progress.

I have a couple questions however:

I've been browsing the forms but I haven't really seen anything directly answering this. When we are doing the open throat technique for the vowel modifications I've been having trouble keeping my throat open when I perform the scales. I can 'yawn' and freeze it there but as soon as I start to sing it my throat goes back down and the soft pallet drops as well. Does anyone have any advice on how to keep it up?

I haven't really advanced past this or started the Audio workouts because I feel like I should have the open throat down before I start anything else. Am i correct in doing this or would the work outs help?