Home Ken Tamplin's Corner

I find it hard to relax

Find relaxing for the open throat technique difficult. Like I can't just pickup a guitar and sing.. I need try hard to relax

Comments

• What area are you having trouble keeping relaxed?

Peace, Tony
  • ContraltoLivesMatterContraltoLivesMatter Member Posts: 124
    my throat. it's like it takes me a bit to get zero compession, like i hae to trust my diaphram to take over etc...Been trying to sing like Axl Rose a bit...he uses a lot of compression and mask. When I sing a Poison Song Bret michaels might compress the first word or end word of a phrase, but he almst sings open mostly. that's what I hear anyway.
    but Like Ken says own it, I'm now admitting i'm a singer + lead guitarist and am getting the confidence to do YouTube videos and openly sing. When I began to sing couldnt understand my words, no volume, zero pitch. Watched Ken's Video on diaphram support and Open throat technique. straight away 80% better ad pitch is now the least of my issues mostly.
    just need tone, color and shape. When I try to sing like another singer I still sound like me...I can't seem to help that but i can get that Bret Michael infliction so I'm happy about that. Then after doing the Open Throat technique, and practicing that. My voice has gotten higher so now I can almost get an axl rose situatio happening but when he splits his voice and goes up I can't do that yet, but I'd love too :) I like the 80s guy singers most, I like The Bangles but I dont sound right singing their stuff Timbre wise though.
  • Some of the stuff axel rose sings is beyond just compression. Its like hyper compression. I heard some of the live stuff he did with AC/DC, and it was horrid sounding. I think he just totally trashed his voice for good. You don't want to emulate that lol. The singer from Nazereth (Can't think of his name) was pretty much in the same boat with the same singing style. It's dangerous.