Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Hello...first post, so pardon if elementary question :)

BassnVoxBassnVox Enrolled Posts: 15
  I'm glad to get started really singing (I've been singing backgrounds for about a year or 2 in my band, but now I want some lessons on how to do it correctly). I have probably beginner question. I've been going for about a week and a 1/2 now (not long in music terms I know, I'm a bass player by trade). But am wondering  how long it took the more adept singers to get used to hearing your own voice. I'm new like a said, I'm still trying to get down the vowel modifications down pat before I move on ( I'm on EE) It's pretty easy to follow along with the (root - 3rd - 5th - octave - 5th -3rd, root) scale they all are built off, I get that ...but recording myself with my band practices, I'm still hating the sound of my own voice for harmonies/background vocals. It takes me a second or 2 to even recognize it!
  My question is....is it like this for everyone?  and our voices will "clean up" with practice and sound more like we want? Or do we have to train our ears to know that this is "our voice"?  From my head/diaphram/throat I can feel like I'm doing this how Ken is saying. My throat is open (got a hand-held mirror just for reference) and I'm not winded even after singing backgrounds and harmonies through a 3-4 hr band practice, no throat pain,etc....the band tells me sounds great, so I'm excited when I go home, and then I listen to the recordings (which are taken straight from the board and I record them into my laptop) and I cringe at the tone. Sorry if this is super noob-ish, I've never had a single vocal lesson, and youtube vids convinced me to try this. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited October 2013

@Icon5lover,