Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Affordable studio microphones! Help!

AntaresAntares Pro Posts: 22

Hey everybody!

I'm trying to record some demos, which I've never done before alone in my life. I have tried with the only mic I have, the dynamic mic shure PG58, which is rather bad in my opinion, but that's what I could afford when I bought it... I'm not a professional, so I don't want to buy anythig extremely expensive, but something good enough to have a decent sound. I checked a bit around internet and I came across the RØDE NT1-A. http://www.rodemic.com/mics/nt1-a

Have anybody some experience with that? Do you think it is worth? Or can you advice me some other mic of around the same price?

Where I live, a new rode nt1-a costs about 220 euros, and in the pack there is also the pop filter and the shock mount, which I guess I need.

I consider also second hand mics.

Thank you for your advices!

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

@Antares,

I think you would get pretty good results with an NT1-A.

Rode makes decent mics, and this is a reasonably-priced unit.  I don't have a Rode mic, but have heard good things on recording forums from people who are happy with Rode mics.

I listened to the demo on the link and the mic sounds good to me.

Bob 

• AntaresAntares Pro Posts: 22

@highmtn

Hi Bob, thank you very much again for the advice... I think that next week I'll go to buy it then! :)

• ragnarragnar Pro Posts: 410
    @Antares

Yeah I have that exact RØDE package actually. I bought it just to be able to record some basic demos, for which it has done the job very well. With that said I don't really know anything about studio recording, so I can't say if you would be able to make a better purchase in terms of value for money.