Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Live Sound

jmarussichjmarussich Pro Posts: 6

Hi All,

I'm new to Ken's program, I purchased the How To Sing Bundle yesterday.  I went through all of Volume 1 so far.  Looking forward to it.  I have a band called Doghouse www.facebook.com/doghouse.page.  We are a 3 piece band and we play rock covers (maybe some originals in the future...).  I think we have a decent set up for live sound for the small/mid size venues we play at.  People complement our sound and clarity fairly often, but when I listen to the recordings (I record most of our shows), I feel like the vocal sound could be improved.  I'm sure much of that can be done by me singing better...  :-)  Although we played at a multi-band show where the sound system was already there and we just needed to plug in.  I thought the vocals sounded much fuller and just "better" in that recording.  I think they recorded off the "board" with everything mic'ed and also a room mic, while I record through a ZOOM Q3HD with the built in mic's, noit sure if that was the main difference.  With that said, I'm thinking there might be ways to improve our live vocal sound from an equipment or set-up perspective.  I'm the main singer, guitar player and sound guy for our band... Many hats... We have QSC K12 mains and QSC K8 monitors.  Yamaha MG124CX Mixer, DBX DriveRack PX, and Audix OM2 Mics.  Any experienced advice on live sound equipment and setup would be much appreciated. Thanks! - Jim

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

@jmarussich

Hi, Jim!

I'm in a 3-piece band doing covers, too.

I'm the drummer, one of the singers, and run the sound board, too.

I'm using QSC K-12's for the Mains, too, and a Mackie 24 input board.

We get lots of compliments on our sound quality as well as our vocals.

I'm not doing a lot of live recording lately, but over the years have done a ton of recording.