Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Long-time fan, First-time Student

Hello, my name is Stephen and I'm a self-taught, working musician (vocals, guitar , bass, piano, drums) from Massachusetts. I've always wanted to be a great singer; ever since I began my musical journey at 11 years of age. But, in the early years, I definitely didn't have the best voice. I spent years singing songs over and over again (which really won't get you anywhere), scrutinizing every note and trying to imitate the tones of my favorite singers. Then one day, at 18, my voice changed. It had already deepened at this point, but it changed again. To my surprise and pleasure, I could sing! By that I mean I had this really full tone and my pitch was spot on. The change even got me noticed for my first real band (an AIC cover band). However, I soon discovered that I had quite a lot of limitations. Firstly, my voice kinda peaked at F#4 or G4 on a good day. I could use my falsetto out to an A5, but it wasn't the robust sound I knew I wanted. So after losing my voice many times and messing up important gigs, I used some Google fu to find some tips for better singing. I tried every free tip I could find (I was dead broke). I started doing excercises I saw on YouTube and eventually I came accross Ken. I was blown away by how easily he could do what I struggled for years to do. But I was a poor musician and frankly ( and stupidly) too cheap to invest in his lessons. You know what, it was more than that. I had this silly notion that if I wasn't a natural, or couldn't do it on my own, then I could never make it in the music industry. I've since worked as a promoter and gotten to see that an important factor I was missing was the right business sense and that many poor excuses for singers made it to the big time. Anyways, while I now can sing up to a G#4 with no strain, no amount of experimentation has unlocked that great classic rock head voice I've always wanted. And to this day, bad habits still creep up and take