Home Welcome

Is this a good program for someone with zero musical training?

adriannaadrianna Member Posts: 1

Hi...

I felt compelled to create the title of this post as such because unlike so many posts I've read while lurking, I have zero musical experience. Typically folks already have established ability with an instrument, some singing training, sang in choir...you get the idea.

Well I can say nobody has ever heard me sing and that's probably a good thing since I'm more apt to cause hearing damage and irreparable psychological trauma than produce a good sounding note!

All that said...I've been dabbling in guitar for a few weeks for fun - i'm 100% self-taught - and enjoying it. I can play some chords and several songs which has been a nice bit of motivatoin and reward. Still I have to say I'd enjoy it a lot more if I could actually hold a tune and sing. As far as goals, for a change I'd like to enjoy the sound of my voice and at least sing well enough for friends and family. Even that seems like a lofty and distant goal.

Just browsing around the KTVA forums as a non-member, I get the sense people are very serious and established. I'm disciplined enough to be serious and consistent having done so with many endeavors but in this I would be starting from absolute zero. It almost feels like walking in to an Olympic training center for say, marathoners when you are just run the occasional weekend 5k for charity with your friends - you get the sense this is all way bigger than you :)

With that in mind...Is the 'sing better than anyone else' package appropriate for someone like me? Would I be better off with the 'mini'? Or perhaps it would be better to just focus on basic musical theory and return to this later?

Many thanks in advance.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

Hi, @adrianna,