Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

More closed, classical sound.

Hello everyone. I'm about to start doing Ken's program vol. 1 but I have some doubts on whether the way it is tought here will lead me to a sound I want to achive. Sorry if i'm wrong with some terms, I'm just a beginner, correct me please. I've noticed in the vids where Ken shows how to sing like some artists like John Legend, Sam Smith and espacially Matt Bellamy, he doesn't have nearly the same sound they do, which is more of a closed, classical, more head resonance sound I guess. I understand that he is more of a rock guy, and I have nothing to say, he is awesome. But I just want to know if this program is suitable for me. So, he sings perfectly same notes but sounds thinner, really chesty and bright, and thats not the sound I'd like to have in the end. With Matt Bellamy for example, this guy sounds, pardon me) more like an SLS school student, but with bigger voice. So what I'm thinking strething your chest is more benefitial for youre range, but will my voice using this course have a sound most artist I like have? Thank you.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,357
    @hoOp,

This course emphasizes a more open, bright sound. You have to work at it to get that bright sound, or else you will tend to have more of a closed, rounded sound. If that's what you want, then you can just cover your teeth more with your lips, and other things that differentiate between covered, more operatic sound, and the bright ping that Ken emphasizes.

The reason for the bright sound is that it is a more modern sound, as opposed to classical, and the bright sound emphasizes natural resonance more. A darker, more closed sound tends more towards a hooty resonance. A brighter sound tends towards more brilliance in the sound when resonating.