Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

Hi Newbie here have a question about stretching chest voice :)

Hi guys I'm new to the forum and I have just started Volume 1. And I'm sorry if the answer to my question is always covered in the videos, but I just want to double check and make sure before I put in 100 % !! (Also English is not my first language. Even though I can speak it pretty well, I'm still worried that I might miss a few little things)

So my goal of singing is to be able to sing those really high rock songs in full chesty sounding voice. I have been singing for 3 years but never had a singing teacher, and currently I can only sing up to G4 with chest voice.

In the videos, Ken says we should stretch our chest voice as high as possible.

So my first question is, to stretch our chest voice, do we do it by using vowel modification, good diaphramatic support and keeping our throat open? To be honest, this doesn't seem as complicated as I thought it would be, it's pretty straight forward but the only hard thing is to put in a ton of work, which I'm willing to do. But I want to make sure if these are the main things I need to work on.

When I'm singing Ah vowel in "It's the law", I use the second modification to sing up to G4. And that feels better (fairly louder and fuller, steadier although still is a little unstable) than what I normally do : close down my throat and squeeze it out. But it feels like it's the limit, and I can't get any higher. (second question) Is this just because I've just started and as my voice grows, it will become easier and have more space so I can sing higher?

And I've always seen on the internet that sing very high with your chest voice (pretty similar to the word "stretch") is bad for your voice. Of course when you just simply yell it up there like I normally do, it will hurt your voice. (Thrid question) And this kinda of yelling "stretch" is different from the "stretch" that Ken teaches us to do right?