Home Welcome

Practice Passion and Persistence - The Perfect Combination

tinaalcoracetinaalcorace Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 209
edited August 2016 in Welcome
Welcome All KTVA Students,

I would like to share with you an experience of mine I am sure can be relatable to you. We all know as vocalists there are many ups and downs to progression and success. The key phrase we must remember is "failing forward" because with every failure, you are one step closer to success. I have been singing since I was 3, professionally since I was about 12 years old, and hit the music industry scene when I was 16 years old. With every form of criticism, I let it go, took it in, but never allowed it to rise to the surface. It is only recently after a solid hit of criticism that I found myself revisiting every other moment someone had put me down or expressed some form of discouragement of negativity. With a recent opportunity this year, I failed, and the overwhelming feelings that came with that caused a snowball effect. Since that opportunity till the beginning of this month, there was a slow and gradual decline to my self belief. I went from being confident in myself and my abilities, to not feeling confident at all. The psychology of singing and what Ken talks about is very true. Because of the negative talk I had developed, I found it affecting any form of vocal performance or practice. I went from "its okay, ill get there" to "I cant do this". Singing was and has always been all ive ever known and all of a sudden, I started feeling and thinking that singing was no longer a purpose of mine and yet, I still found myself trying. I still held on, never gave up and despite the little confidence, still believe this gift given to me had purpose. With time, conversation and tears I finally reached a breaking point. A point of success! Just when I thought that hope was diminishing, I broke through that wall; I broke through that glass sealing I felt was holding me down