Home Off Topic

Smoking cigarettes

JamesdaahJamesdaah Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 1
Hey guys. Im new to ken's course. Im definetly experienced enough to sing throught the chest and head. Never lose my voice unless trying to use compression. Which im assuming i do incorrectly and im still taking volume one very slowly since all this vowel modification is new to me.
I really want better control of connecting my chest and head voice but im worried smoking cigarettes for 11 years has really ruined in the middle for me. I can do a nice maroon 5 head voice. And a pretty solid pearl jam chest voice. Connecting the two just isnt happening and im worried its due to smoking and all the build up of garbage in my throat and lungs.
Would smoking an e cig help? Or am i gonna have to kill my addiction to fix this?

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited November 2016
    I recommend killing your addiction before it does that to you. We'd like to have you around a little longer, and it's certainly not going to help you with your connection of head and chest. That's not to say that a smoker can't learn to sing. It's just like pedaling uphill, against the wind, with a flat tire, that's all. Oh, yes, and your hair is on fire. ;^)

You'll really need to just follow the instructions and work to get your voice to sound as near as possible to a tone that matches in both chest and head, and to also take the volume and air flow way down, so that you can feel and work the mechanisms that release between chest and head voices, and allow you to blend from one to the other.

I hope you can get your passaggio smoothed out. It often just takes a lot of trial and error until you kind of find the "key" to the passageway, through manipulation of the pressure changes. That's easiest at very low velocities.

All the Best!

Bob
  • JenniferCampionJenniferCampion Member Posts: 28