Home The Singer's Lobby

How long does it probably take me to sing good enough to sing in a band?

Hello community,

I am fairly new to the course. If you want to know how good I can singing right now imagine someone who sings really, really bad and divide his singing skills by two. My question is, if I'd practise about 1 hour every day, how long would it approximately take me to become good enough to sing in a hard rock/metal band or go to The Voice and not get kicked out in the first round?

I'd really like to now. Thanks

Comments

• You have to enjoy the process of singing. The key to a good voice is to take your time in your own pace.
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,357
    @GoldenVoice,

If you are really, really bad, it could take a really, really long time to get good enough to sing in a band, unless the band is really, reaaaaaaaaaly bad.

But maybe you are exaggerating just HOW "bad" you are now. Some people actually are incapable of learning to improve. In most cases those are people who do not follow the instructions, and want everything to happen magically, instantly, and effortlessly. But it takes as long as it takes for you to get to where you want to be.

Can you sing happy birthday without everyone at the birthday party stopping in mid-song and kicking you out of the room? You have to have at least SOME capability of being able to hear notes and match them in order to get good enough to be in a band. Hard Rock Metal takes some chops. You can't be a slacker there.

And first round of The Voice, you should be pretty good to not get thrown out. They can't put just anybody on round two.

But the truth is that if you do the course you WILL get better, you WILL improve, and how much you improve is largely up to you and the effort and focus you give Ken's course.