Home Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy REVIEWS

KTVA Review

KevinGremKevinGrem Pro Posts: 217
Alright, it's been about a year now since I started training using the KTVA. My voice has improved for sure, but as for how much it's improved, it's difficult to say. My goals were to be able to sing higher than before. There are three different areas of improvement I want to mention:

First, before I was doing this program, the highest note I could sing in full voice was a B4, which is actually a lot higher than most people who begin the program. A lot of people can only go as high as F#4, so of course they increase their range a ton after they do this program, since there's a lot of room there for growth. For me there is a lot less room, but I have still have grown the voice to some amount. B4 is where my passaggio begins. That hasn't changed; I'm not sure if I could ever expect the passaggio to change where it's located. What I have improved on though, is singing within and through the passaggio. What used to be a B4 for me is now a full note higher; a C#5. The passaggio notes, B4, C5, and C#5, are really a vocal register of their own, at least that's how it seems to me. What I mean is, the voice is always going to get thinner at B4. But that ability to sing in that thin yet full voice has increased by a whole step. So that's good.

Secondly, my highest screams, the mixed voice, has increased. I never remember being able to sing an A5 in full mixed voice. Probably a G5 was my highest. Now it's not that difficult for me. I have on recording me singing an A#5, just about being full mixed voice. Now of course, my falsetto can go higher than that now, though there's really not much use for it overall, since I don't like ultra thin falsetto vocals. But still, I managed to hit a C#6 in falsetto, just to see how high I could get. So both my mixed voice and falsetto voice has expanded by what seems to be about 3 half tones. That's good too.