Home Newbies Demo Area - for those who want to test the waters!

Chris Cornell - Call Me A Dog, chorus

Hey people, how's it going? :)

My question is feedback/technique related: what's going on with the high note right around 01:08? Anyone?? I've dried a bunch of stuff over some months now and I can't get it to sit nicely. Any and ALL critique, suggestions and feedback is very welcome!

Cheers and thanks for listening, Mikkjal

Answers

• MatsyMatsy Pro Posts: 168
    I am only new to this, so apologies if I get it wrong. To me sounds like you are trying to come in on the wrong vowel modification and perhaps you need to come in on the "loft" ah sound.
  • MikkjalMikkjal Member Posts: 2
    Hi Matsy, thanks for the comment :)

But when though? Which vowel would you modify and when?

The lyrics for the struggling bit are "but when it's my time". If I only base my mods on the simplest version of what Ken teaches it would go something like "but wh(eh)n it's m(ah)___ time" (see this live recording for reference and beautiful mug :Dhttps://youtu.be/AFi0olcpLRI?t=2m16s ).

Now, what I think Ken would say here is that the "my" in the line becomes "m(ah)" and based on where he's singing it note height wise (A4, jumping to B4 for a short bit) I have to make it an AH with the Uh (hook) mod.

That's what I'm trying to do but not quite getting there. Suggestions? :)
  • MatsyMatsy Pro Posts: 168
    edited April 2017
    Hi, I just had another listen. I reckon you are so close to nailing it and it's mental pressure holding you back. It's interesting because when you speak about in the video and in your post you keep referring to this as the "high note" and I wonder if that is holding you back mentally. I have a feeling you could get a much higher note. Are you doing Ken's scales? Have you watched his video on the lah vowel modification?