Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Looking forward to enjoying singing for the first time

This is my first post and introduction on the KTVA forum. I have been reading quite a bit and fortunately I'm still encouraged that I'll be able to sing to my and other's enjoyment, though I'm not convinced that I'll be "better than everyone else".

I started playing guitar about 45 years ago. I remember that even during my teens when I would be the entertainment at the campfire, I wouldn't sing. My dad jokingly told me that with my voice I should get really good on the guitar. I think that joke stuck in my mind. I took a voice class in college, seeing how my act would improve if I would sing. That didn't stick. A couple of years ago I tried another online course and that didn't do much for me either.

I really like the lessons from Ken and I am already discovering that some nice sounds can come out of my mouth when I follow his instructions. I went through the Weekend warrior course but immediately jumped into the Pro course that came bundled together. I didn't go for the sype lessons but I think that would be beneficial at some point.

I should add that I am not a professional musician though guitar is a great hobby for me and I enjoy playing at open mic/stages. I'm looking forward to the time when I can sing there as well.

I do use my voice in daily prayers, though unless I'm leading a service, my voice is not loud. Since learning about the open throat and diaphragmatic breathing with support and the amphitheater in the back of my throat, I started hearing my voice in a more pleasant tone than I noticed before. That positive self feedback has been very enjoyable to me and that is most promising that I'll be able to really sing.

Thanks for listening. I look forward to growing and learning together with this community.

With blessing,

Yossi

Comments

• DeyanDeyan Pro Posts: 25