Home VOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS for the Bold!

Maybe I'm Amazed

Hi folks! I've been playing lead guitar for 40 years and singing baritone range stuff here and there, but something like this song was WAY out of my range. I'd appreciate any advice regarding how stay on pitch when I sing higher stuff. http://www.singsnap.com/karaoke/r/b9830a5bd

Comments

• MatsyMatsy Pro Posts: 168
    When I clicked on the link it said that I didn't have permission to listen.
  • barthybarthy Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 24
    Oh man, you're right Matsy! I fixed it now, I think.
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    Good job on this, barthy. Some interesting things about this. When I listen to your voice, there's something happening on the M's and N's. As information, M's, N's, and NG's happen in your nasopharynx. It's sounding a little stopped up, as if you have a cold. Often, that happens because people are trying to avoid "sounding nasal". This thing about that is, if you don't let the M's, N's, and NG's RING in your nasopharynx, you soud like you hab uh bad code. Like you have a bad cold or congestion.

You are reaching the high pitches of this song (this is a hard song to sing, by the way). But when you are on those pitches they just aren't resonant enough. They're muted a bit.

My opinion or theory is that you are holding back, afraid of making it be proclaimed to be "too nasal". Do you hear what I'm talking about when you listen to this? Something is happening that is suppressing those notes just a skoshe. They're on-pitch, but not ringing naturally. They need to ring and ping, really bright.

Also, you're doing a great job of reducing the girth to get up to those notes. Honestly, because I know this song and have heard it on a lot of demos, I was bracing myself for you to choke the high notes. You didn't. You nailed the pitches. Now I want you to nail the tonality and let it ring, with no suppression.