Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

New student from Germany

MatthaeiMatthaei Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 71
Hi folks!

Ralph (33) from Munich, Germany, here.

It's been five months now since i discovered Ken's youtube videos.I was just browsing around for some additional vocal exercises to improve my singing.

I've been an amateur singer for 12 years now. It all started when my former band colleagues encouraged me to sing background/baritone parts in our arrangements. They liked my voice which they knew from some sing-along songs. I was "just" an gituarist at that time and never imagined me as a singer in front of the crowd.
It took a while but eventually i said yes and it was a life changing decision. I liked it very very much.

After a short while i started to write my own songs and our band changed. From playing worship songs (in rock style) for youth services only to a soft rock band with own material.
It seemed only natural that i also write the lyrics, the vocal lines and also sing the lead.

We started with songs in "Simon and Garfunkel style", which was all fine. But shortly after that we wrote also harder arrangements and i found that my voice was reaching its limits very quickly.
Since also most of the songs came from me i became the permanent frontman of the band.

At that point i felt that i want "more". So i made the decision to become a really good singer, as good as i can be.

I started to take singing lessons by an vocal coach in my small hometown.
I learned some of the funamentals like a good posture, diaphragmatic support, and we worked on the passagio and head voice.

My voice improved, but even after 4 years i still had a lot of trouble to really convince as a rock singer. I wasn't able to put "strong feelings" in my voice, to sing with distortion, to belt high notes,... etc. Also i haven't developed any kind of vibrato.