Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Total newbie

Hi there,
I bought the PRO course (+WW) last week - a bit of an impulse purchase: I have no music/singing experience (i.e. I am too embarrassed to even sing Happy Birthday out loud and don't know the first thing about notes/vocal range etc.), but I get really moved by music and singing, so decided I needed to do something about it. Do you have any tips for total newbies?
I assume I should start with the week-end warrior? If so, should I just practice the exercises after having watched the videos? How often? For how long? How/When do I know that I can move on the Vol 1?
Also, when Ken suggests women 'just do the exercises an octave higher' - I find that quite hard. Should i just not worry and then do the DIVA exercises?
Thanks for your help
Katia

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited June 2017
    Hi, katia.b.

Welcome to your new world. Be very accepting of yourself and willing to work over a period of time to see what you can do with your voice. In some ways, you will have the advantage of not having a lot of bad habits to overcome.

Do start with Weekend Warrior, and spend as much time with it as you need to. Do the exercises in the octave that feels most comfortable to you. All men and all women don't necessarily do the Dude or Diva exercises. Some do a combination of each. We're all different. Do the Dude exercises if they seem to fit, or vice-versa.

Watch the videos. Then watch them again. Plan on watching them periodically, because you'll notice things that slipped by you before. Then start doing the audio exercises.

You can start out doing a half hour at first, but you should aim towards doing more like an hour per day, 5 to 6 days a week. It may take you a while to build up to that.