Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Better late than never. An old guy's story.

Introductions are in order, as I’m new to the KTVA forums. I just bought the Pro course and am just getting started. I’m 54 years old next month so this is a bit of a late start for me. Let me give you a little background on my singing efforts.

To begin with I cannot sing well by anyone’s measure. I have always wanted to, but here are the things that have conspired to prevent it. When I was 11 or 12 and just discovering radio and bands, I would sing along. My step-father would regularly belittle my ability. “You couldn’t carry a tune in a bucket”, “those people on the radio are getting paid to sing let them do it”, these are things I would often hear from him. Earlier when I was in about the 4th grade, my teacher had the whole class sing scales as a group each week. He would then ask for volunteers to solo the scales. I knew I wasn’t on key but one day I felt it click for me. I understood it. I felt I could do it. I volunteered to solo and in front of the class he said, “you better just wait a while”. I was devastated.

These things kept me from making any real effort at singing. The funny thing is my mother was a pro level singer and was forced to turn down a singing career at 16 because, back in the day, “thats not what good girls did”. Many times, I asked her to help me learn and her only response was to say that the voice was a muscle, just to keep singing and it would get better…

Fast forward, I have been playing guitar for 40 years. Over those years, I have never made an effort to sing in a band setting (well twice with disastrous results), but I have realized that I can sing the notes, I can hear the melody. I can hear the tune and visualize me singing with the voice inside my head. Now, I just need to learn to get it out in the real world. I have always felt that I had the ability, locked up somewhere inside me. I just have never known how to release that potential. Help me KTVA!