Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

44-Year Old Virgin (singer)

Hello, I'm Cheese - which is a nickname from college that's stuck with me over the years. I just signed up as a Pro member yesterday and tonight I'll be diving head first into the program. A little about me:

Music has always been a part of my life. My mom had me taking piano lessons around age 9, so I can read sheet music and know some theory. When I graduated from high school I bought my first cheap acoustic guitar and a Beginner's guitar book and taught myself. Regretfully, I really never touched a piano again, but I kept playing guitar over the years and I'd say that at this point I'm alright. I can play the rhythm to just about any song I hear and I know enough scales to string enough notes together to pass as a solo. I learned how to play guitar by listening to stuff like Jimi Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Metallica, GnR, STP, Nirvana, so I tend to play on the harder side of rock.

Of course, the missing part has always been the vocals, which is why I'm here. A few months ago I hooked up with a buddy of mine who plays drums and after a few jam sessions we decided that: a) the music we played sounded pretty good, b) we like the same styles of music, c) we both have this mid-life crisis kind of desire to get a little garage band together and play in front of friends. Hey, it's cheaper than buying a Porsche! He actually has a decent setup in his basement/studio, so we have the basic necessities of a garage band, we're just missing a few components - mainly, a capable singer.