Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Hello All

jasondotjjasondotj Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 51
Hello, my name is Jason. I have been looking at online programs for quite some time now. A little history, I've been playing guitar now for 25 years. I've always loved to sing even before I started playing guitar. Music has always been in my heart and soul. I'm 42 years old and I remember listening to records of classic rock when I was 8 years old in the early 80's. I tried to record some demo songs probably around 2001. Man, my voice was horrific. I tried taking some singing lessons at a local church many years ago. I only went for a few months. That helped me a little. I have slowly progressed over the years, but I still struggle with a lot of things. I looked into a program of DVD's years and years ago (competitor who I won't mention), but thought, gosh, that's expensive! I kind of just kept practicing with songs I loved to sing, but still found I was having trouble in a lot of key areas. I do "okay" now. I still struggle with breath support, pitch, power, and other things. I just realized recently I was mistaking power for singing "higher". I love to sing rock. I don't necessarily want to sing like Steve Perry, Freddie Mercury, or Robert Plant. I'm more of a "baritenor" from what I've been told. My influences include a lot of 90's artists, especially Eddie Vedder, Chris Cornell, Kevin Martin of Candlebox (great range there - I'd love to see Ken singing a Candlebox tune), and even John Rzeznik and Trent Reznor. I also like some post-grunge singers, especially Corey Taylor, Shaun Morgan, and Aaron Lewis.

About six months ago, I found KTVA after thinking, wow, I should do some research and see if I can't find help online for my singing. No offense, but at first I thought why does this guy have so many YouTube videos of him singing all these different songs?