Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Chronic Throat Tension / Intonation Problems

Hi guys,
Very excited about this thread. I am a guitarist/songwriter who intends to sing better, in the style of TheBeatles, TheShins, ofMontreal, and TheBeachBoys. I am a music instructor and have found that speaking and singing have both become very fatiguing for me. I have visited several ENT doctors, who performed video strobes, and no abnormalities were discovered. I even visited a speech pathologist for several sessions who was puzzled by the issue.
This soreness has been a daily situation for the past 4 years, and has become a real hinderance.
I have always dealt with pitchy singing, and I imagine this must be due to some improper usage of the muscles.
I do not smoke, or drink soda, coffee, milk, or beer.
I am suspicious that the soreness is caused more by a subconscious thought process, than by some physical injury. I have been reading about TMS (tension myositis syndrome), theorized by Dr. John Sarno, and it appears that this lines up with my situation. However, even with this knowledge/belief, nothing appears to be changing.
I suppose lower impact vocal warm-up's would be good for me to try every day, rather than getting discouraged and stopping because it's too sore, as I have done in the past.
So, I am reaching out to see if any of you have overcome something similar? I appreciate any advice!
Thank you!,
Stephen

Comments

• Furious_PhilFurious_Phil Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,421
    Do you possibly have problems with GERD? (Acid Reflux)
  • revolution9revolution9 Member Posts: 2
    Hi,
    I've had doctors say that they don't think I am having issues with acid reflux, and I tried over the counter Prilosec which had no effect.
    But I do have phlegm continually, especially after meals, and I am typically clearing my throat all day long. I just watched Ken's video on acid reflux today.