Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Motivation by the Month?

ebackeback Member, 2.0 PRO Posts: 6
edited February 2018 in INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Hi all,

I'm 61, and love playing guitar. As a young adult I played in a few cover bands but never felt any confidence with singing. I no longer play in a cover band but would love to be able to both play and sing in social settings which is why I signed up (for the streaming pro option though I may may switch to download).

I work in healthcare and have a 20 - 25 minute commute to work each day which I've found convenient for exercises, though it's not ideal in terms of posture. Nevertheless a side benefit has been enjoying a more peaceful commute as I really don't mind getting cut off now or plodding along as it allows more time to practice.

As an infant I experienced a traumatic experience with my trachea due to an allergic reaction and a tracheotomy. I sometimes wondered over the years if the difficulties I had with singing were due to some intrinsic damage to my larynx even-though throughout my life I've had frequent comments mentioning how much people liked my speaking voice (you should've been in radio etc.). What I am finding is that my difficulties are common to almost everyone. Even in a few days I'm noticing some subtle improvements in passage from "chest" to "head" which has always seemed impossible without cracking. I'm starting to understand how the KT exercises can potentially lead to big time changes and am hopeful about the kinds of improvements that will enable me to lead sing-a-longs, rock open mics, and personally enjoy replicating songs that I've loved all my life.

regards to all,
Eric

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354