Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Gear for a small gig

vmalheirosvmalheiros Pro Posts: 105
Hi everybody! Before I start, I just want to say that I am completely new to singing gear and whatnot. Let's say I do a small gig, in which the bass player has his bass amp, the guitar player has his guitar amp, and I, the singer have my amplifier (a multi-purpose amplifier). Let's also say that I have a shure sm58. My question is, do I connect my microphone directly into that amp? And even if that works, will it sound good? Or do I have to have a mic pre-amplifier, to which I would connect my microphone, and then connect the pre-amp to the amplifier? Keep in mind that I'm not talking about recording, but singing live and sounding good. Thank you, and sorry for my ignorance.

@highmtn
@streeter

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    Most guitar amps are made to have a nice, slightly grungy sound for guitar, that breaks up with a little bit of soft or smooth distortion. That's not normally going to get you a good sound with a mic.

Also, an SM58 is a low-impedance microphone, with an "XLR" connector to plug into the sound system. Most guitar amps don't accept that connector (although some may have that).

You just want to be sure that your system that you plug a microphone into will sound clean and clear when you sing into it. So you may need to try something out in a store, singing and playing into it.

If you get a clean system, like a powered P.A. speaker that accepts an XLR with a separate volume knob for your Mic and also another volume knob for your guitar, you may be able to rely on a small "stomp box" if you're wanting a grungy guitar sound. That way the clean amp/speaker combination will work well for your voice, and you can get whatever sound you are looking for from your guitar by getting an accessory stompbox for that effect.