Home Ken Tamplin's Corner

Leaving the KTVA Forum

Hey Guy's,

Thanx for being So kind with me here at the KTVA - Forum page. I am Leaving the forum, my voice is just no good. I'm always slightly under pitch even when singing against an Eb Tuned Guitar. I know that working at singing can make it happen, I just realize I'd rather just play my guitar to it's fullest, and get a singer if I need one to work with.

Enjoy singing, and I wish you all the best

Caroline

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    We'll still be here if you change your mind. :)
  • ContraltoLivesMatterContraltoLivesMatter Member Posts: 124
    I tried for an hour to sing poisons fallen angel, and no matter how hard I squeeze my diaphram I cannot stop falling short. It' kind of re enforcing my mind I can't be singer. as I am a Pro Level Guitarist, I need my voice to be a solo artist and waiting 2 years to work my voice is not really an option. I wouldn't mind if I could get my voice in tune, and develop as I go...however: it's not happening. Kens Techniques are working on So many levels, however; not my pitch that much.
  • If you are going to play guitar anyway, I would still try to match my singing notes with the guitar notes. Practicing a little bit is better than no practice at all, and it won't hurt you. (unless you're screaming or stressing the voice out.)

Peace, Tony

• Furious_PhilFurious_Phil Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,421
    It most certainly is a time commitment. Like anything in life, to get really good at something, you have to commit the time. (like guitar)
    For example, my basic vocalist timeline was something like this:

0-6 months:
    My bassist regularly brought in singers to "allow me to focus on guitar" (read that as a veiled 'please stop' from him)

7-12 months:
    Visiting singers stopped being brought to our rehearsals, able to sing for 2 + hours without fatigue

13-18 months: