Home SINGER/SONGWRITERS

How to increase vocal range

Hey guys
I’m a singer and a student of Ken Tamplin’s Vocal Academy. I started out singing 1.5 half years ago, not even knowing what a headvoice is or that I’d be able to sing in it. Now I’d like to show you a Video of my process and ask you a question at the same time: Looking at this video, you will really hear that I reached my limit in terms of vocal range. Do you have any suggestions how to increase from there on? I feel like I have been stuck there now for quite a while and it doesen’t seem that I make any progress... Thank for your feedback and help.
Best, Lukas

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=3quei7DFvA8

Comments

• HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    So I was where most men get stuck F#4/G4, and on Volume 1. When I switched to the piano only exercises (which I recreated in LMMS) in Volume 1, I found that they got up past that. Triads are A4 and Majors C#5. I was pushing up just thinking that in time I would adjust and yes my range was inching up, BUT it was costing me. I also didn't know and really didn't have a head voice (I had never used it and it literally wasn't there) so I started doing as suggested and singing one set of scales chest and the other set head. This was proving to be very hard on my voice. I was putting off vowel modifications because I knew that they were covered in Volume 2 more thoroughly, but I thought you know Ken talks about them and gives some hints why don't I incorporate what he says in Volume 1 and be more ready for Volume 2. WOW! that was magic. I do have to modify to hit the notes but it doesn't strain and most importantly I don't have to pay the next day. I have only been doing this a VERY short while but so far it seems to be working. It is so crazy to me that you need to close down the air to get to the higher notes, very counter-intuitive, but that's what needs to happen.