Home Psychology of Singing

Friend likes 'joke' voice better than 'trying' voice

Kanis999Kanis999 2.0 PRO Posts: 16
edited December 2018 in Psychology of Singing
A friend I've know my whole life and been in bands with is quite accustomed to hearing me try to sing. I've been doing KTVA exercises for about 6 months now, which I know is nowhere near enough time to get real benefit from it, but that is relevant background information.

He doesn't come out and say it directly but I think he doesn't like the sound of when I try to use the techniques I've been learning. He implies it sounds forced, shaky, and weak. I honestly tend to agree. But when I sing in a ridiculous joking way, he says it sounds way better. This joking method of singing though is pretty much objectively bad technique, a sort of shouting and gruff yell similar to how early James Hetfield sounds. I do actually love that tone btw, I just know its the antithesis of most of what Ken teaches.

I think the reason he likes the bad technique is mostly psychological. If I'm 'joking', I'm stepping into a character. Any judgment of that character's sound doesn't reflect on the 'real' me, so I'm able to sing with no self consciousness. When I'm singing in this manner I'm also expecting it to sound bad, because its a joke, so there's basically no inhibition. It sounds confident because I don't give a crap.

This friend of mine and I are in a band and we've got to decide how to carry forward. Obviously I'm going to keep doing the course and believe everything Ken has to say, but how do I rectify the discrepancy between what I would call 'try-hard' singing, and 'idgaf' singing? Just keep try-harding until the voice grows enough for that to sound good?

Comments

• HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818