Home Newbies Demo Area - for those who want to test the waters!

How to know what voice you are

Hello, I'm relatively new and I want to learn how to sing but the only way I was taught (self taught) was by trying to copy the voices of those whose songs I loved and I have no idea what I'm doing and I'm taking the course now. I got the diaphragmatic support and breathing good but I still don't know what type of voice o even have. And again no self confidence so it's all baby steps for me

Got any suggestions as to how to find out?

Comments

• HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    Hello!

You should upgrade your forum status if you own the course. Access to the student areas is a real benefit and you can get the process started here.
  • DevonMooreDevonMoore Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 44
    edited December 2018
    By knowing what you range is as well as where your tessitura sits (where your most comfortable) there is a good picture of this if you google voice types and look at images.

there is more to it then this but a simple answer since your just starting out ^^
  • doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    edited December 2018
    Hi @LoneWolfRogue,

@HuduVudu is right. We could give you better answers if you would come to the Students Area, i.e. http://forum.kentamplinvocalacademy.com/categories/stretching-chest-voice.

But Devon ( @DevonMoore ) is on the right track. But it would even be better to know your "primo passagio" and your "secundo passagio". But remind, that Ken teaches us how to sing far above our regular ranges so the CLASSIFICATION (which is made by humans) loses its meaning to a certain kind.

Doc
  • LoneWolfRogueLoneWolfRogue 2.0 PRO Posts: 265
    Thank you to everyone on the Forum help. I had no idea.

I did forward the emails so hopefully I'll be upgraded in the forum soon cause I'm eager to learn to help my voice grow and build my confidence.