Home Psychology of Singing

despair

OK, I am very new to singing, its the first time I have recorded my singing.omg, it's sooo bad, yet the girls at work say they like me singing?. Does everybody hate the sound of there own voice?!!

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    Hi @kirk , just believe the girls! seriously, it is totally normal to hate it if you have never heard your own voice before. what you hear inside your head is so different from what reaches the outside world. hence the "shock".

you will get used to it. don't let it discourage you. I think you'd be the first person to not be shocked to hear it for the first time.

best, Klaus
  • DevonMooreDevonMoore Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 44
    @kirk everyone "normally" hates the sound of their own voice at first.

You will start to like it the more you hear it and more important is that recording your training and practice will develop your ear so you can keep improving your voice.

Post a sample of you doing the scales and get some real feedback.
  • Michael4000Michael4000 STREAMING PRO Posts: 992
    I still feel this way sometimes.
  • It's typical, and common for people to not like the sound of their voice. You only hear your voice from the inside, and when you hear it from the outside, to you it will sound different, but it really isn't different.

I was the same way, and still don't like my sound on certain things, but I just keep working at it, and it gets better by the day.

Peace, Tony
  • Gaston_JaureguiGaston_Jauregui Moderator, Enrolled, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,004
    edited January 2019
    you´ll more likely get used to your voice more than liking it, at least thats how I feel, you might think "that was well performed" or good or bad or "awesomely performed", instead of "oh woow i have an amazing voice" hahaha, but other people will really love your sound which is what really matters
  • bentkbentk Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,650