Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Question about stretching/strengthening vocal cord/range...

Hi there,

I am a beginner singer working on releasing tongue root and jaw tension at the moment with some success, but I still feel a little pain/tension on my chords after warming up.

I would like to start strengthening my higher register as it feels weak, but am i going for this too early?

Also - is there a difference between tension felt after warming up and possible tension after strengthening the higher register?.....as in can you feel a slight pain/tension after stretching the chords gently and consciously...kind of like the good pain after going to the gym...or is all tension bad?

Thank you for your input!

EllyM

Comments

• HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    First off, make sure that you have solid breath control. Lip burbles are a good way to ensure that this is the case. If you have that under control, then stretching your voice will be much safer. You are correct that you need to be warmed up before you start. The only tension that you should feel from warming up is in your support mechanism.

You will feel tension in throat as you stretch your voice, this is normal. Just like being at the gym don't push your voice beyond what it could possibly take. Be consistent over time and you will extend your range.

Hope that helps.
  • EllyMEllyM Member Posts: 10
    Yes that does help. Thank you so much....good logical advice...

I like lip burbles [trills?]...but I can only really do them successfully if i squeeze the sides of my mouth..like where dimples normally are on the face area.

Do you think I should train myself to do the burbles without the use of my hand supporting them, or is it ok to use the support? I am able to go much higher with the support of my hand squeezing, otherwise the burble just cuts out for me...?

Plus - may I just clarify what you mean by this -"The only tension that you should feel from warming up is in your support mechanism."