Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Falsetto/head

oscar17oscar17 2.0 PRO Posts: 8
Hi
I really worry that I’ve lost falsetto for good.
Straining at the top . Now I have only a whisper falsetto/ whistle
Any advice how to get it back?

Comments

• HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    Any idea on how you lost it?
  • oscar17oscar17 2.0 PRO Posts: 8
    I am a light tenor. Over 2 years ago I had been singing a lot of top A’s and generally trying to sing high notes without using falsetto girlie voice . Shortly after When my teacher told me to use falsetto during an exercise I realised that I couldn’t. Previously I had a Good falsetto so it was useful in quiet songs to sing the Bb sweetly. Now I can only sing those high notes with volume. When I try to flip into falsetto I get either nothing at all or an unreliable whistle sound.
  • IraRIraR Member, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 54
    I've found my falsetto-range gradually recovering. While I'm no expert, and it might be something is really permanently wrong that you have checked out by a real expert, I would say to keep your hopes up as best you can. Above all, keep singing in your lower registers at lower volumes.Try to avoid over-singing at all costs. It's possible that you have been "pushing" too much. You also may have developed some bad singing habits that may take some time to break. And Ken occasionally says that certain styles of singing will, over time, "inhibit range," legitimate and otherwise healthy as those styles may be (although Ken doesn't advocate them for singers who want to retain "runner's body" versatility). Experiment a little, also, in your "non-existent" falsetto register, with whatever "hooty" sounds there might be there, but make sure you cut back the air and the volume as much as you can. You may be trying to give too much air in that falsetto register, at least for now. Cut the air back to a bare minimum, as if holding your breath, and you may find you actually have more sound there, however count