Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Singing/recording equipment question(s)

donmckindonmckin Enrolled Posts: 25
As mentioned in my introduction post,Ive been doing this for about a year.However Im an absolute novice when it comes to recording equipment.In addition to singing,Im also re-learning the guitar (havnt played since I was a young kid),but in the meantime,can anyone recommend a decent Karaoke style set up? I see some people on youtube make some decent recordings with karaoke machines.So any recommendations on some equipment would be great!Thanks

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

Kain,

There are some software products that will do a pretty good job of extracting the vocals from regular recordings so that when you sing over them, only your voice will be heard.  There are a lot of programs out there that may do what you want.

Soundforge is one that isn't too expensive and most versions now include a karaoke feature.  You would be happiest with a recording program that will let you multi-track, so you can sing along to music tracks, double-track your voice if you like so you can harmonize with yourself, do background vocals, etc. 

All you would need would be a program, a computer, and possibly a USB microphone of reasonable quality.  Oh,yes, and some headphones!

I would suggest you google "Audio Recording Software" and see what interests you... You might be able to download 30-day trial software and compare one program against others, before you commit.

Even without dedicated recording software, I'm pretty sure you could just use the mic on a webcam and the existing Windows or Mac operating system software programs for live recording.  A multi-track setup would just give you a lot of options for more possibilities for learning experiences.

In most any case, you should also have a good pair of sound-isolating headphones or earbuds to monitor yourself while recording.