Home Favorite Music, Vocal Movies, and Videos

What is Eivor doing with her voice?

Hello!

I am new to building my chest voice! I've just been singing really high, on my own, for the last 10 years, but just decided to get serious about my voice recently. So I feel I have overdeveloped my head voice, and now I'm trying to figure out my different ranges and how to incorporate everything, with the help of this course.

I like the sound of Eivor's voice in this video - is she using a combo of chest voice, mixed voice and head voice at times (aside from the throat singing). Or primarily head voice? Also her voice sounds like it has a lot of air to it sometimes. I do enjoy my upper register and singing more ethereal/mystical type music, but I don't have much going on in my middle/lower registers, so hoping to develop more color and flexibility. I want to do things safely for my voice, though, and she is singing with a lot of closed tones - is that harmful at all if good support is maintained?

Thank you! ~Aaralyn

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LpiFmZLICgM

Comments

• doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    Hi @AaralynShiri,

in the "normal" parts she is sing in chest and head voice. In the very low part she is singing in her "fry" register. This is the lowest register (below of our modal register, like we call it in medicine). Normally that is not very useful for singing songs.

Doc
  • AaralynShiriAaralynShiri 2.0 PRO Posts: 30
    @doc_ramadani ok the lowest part, I assume she is doing something with false vocal folds and things like that. Thank you! Still having trouble identifying different parts of my voice. I think I've mostly been singing head voice my whole life. It's making more sense, though.
  • HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    edited August 2019