Home SHOW TIME - Band Rehearsals and Performance Day!!!

Looking forward to this

jpachecolmjpachecolm Enrolled, 2.0 PRO Posts: 40
I know that I've recently joined, but this is a topic that has given me frustration over the years. I just can't seem conquer this issue. I love playing guitar as much as I do singing, but when I put the two together, I lose my sense of timing in both areas. I don't want to jump around the volumes, but I may have to check this out sooner rather than later...

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

When you want to take a stab at this, one thing you will probably have to do is take it really slow and easy.

At first it can be hard to coordinate doing more than one thing at a time.  I'm a drummer, and drummers have to coordinate both arms and legs when playing.  Adding vocals is another challenge. 

A good strategy for figuring this out is to play and sing in very slow motion and slowly add speed.  You may have to do more challenging parts Line-by-Line, over and over before you can add any speed at all.  Eventually you start to get the hang of it and it's more like riding a bicycle.  Once you can rely on the feeling of doing everything at once, it will gradually come together.

That said, there are so many moving targets when you are learning to correctly sing using the KTVA method, the last thing you need to add right now is another moving target of an instrument.

Please make sure you're well on track with your vocalizing before adding another bowling pin to juggle!

When you do take the plunge, start out on simple songs. Simple to sing and simple to play.  One step at a time... Then slowly add more challenging vocals and guitar chops.

Bob

• jpachecolmjpachecolm Enrolled, 2.0 PRO Posts: 40